All Collections
Help Articles
Supporters
Bring your friends and family with you to events with Group Signup
Bring your friends and family with you to events with Group Signup

Learn how to create and manage group reservations for events

Updated over a week ago

Want to participate in an event with your friends, family, or colleagues? Our group signup feature allows you to reserve spots for your group so you can more easily Mobilize together!

Sign up your group and add contact information

Step one: Sign up and select a group size

When an event has group signup enabled, you'll see the option to add a group to your signup. Select your group size to reserve spots for your group members. You're now the group leader!

Step two: Add your group members' contact information

After signing up, you'll be prompted to add your group members' names and contact information - you can do this now, do this in your volunteer schedule later, or have your group members add their own contact information, as explained in the next step.

We recommend that group leaders add as much contact information as possible so that their members receive event information via email and the event organizers can prepare. However, email and phone numbers are not required for group members, making this a helpful feature for members who do not have email addresses and group leaders who are in a hurry.

If you add your group members' email addresses, they will each receive an email notifying them that they've been added to your group for this event.

If you choose not to add any information for a group member, the member will be considered an unknown signup. Unknown signups still count toward the total registered number for the event.

Note: It's important to keep your group information up to date so that event organizers can prepare for the event. We recommend you add as much contact information for your group members as possible and cancel or add group members promptly.

Step three: Share your unique signup link with your group members

When group leaders are prompted to add their group members, they'll receive a unique signup link to share so that group members can add their contact information themselves.

When a group member signs up using the group leader's unique link, Mobilize will know that they are a part of the leader's group.

Manage your group

Once you've signed up, you'll be able to find your group reservation by navigating to Menu --> My schedule and then selecting Manage group. You can also access your volunteer schedule and group reservation from the registration email you received after signing up for the event.

Here, you'll be able to do the following:

  • View and cancel group members;

  • Add new group members within timeslot max capacity and group size limit restrictions;

  • Add contact information for group members; and

  • Access your group referral link so group members can add their own contact information to their registrations.

Note: It's important to keep your group information up to date so that event organizers can prepare for the event. We recommend you add as much contact information for your group members as possible and cancel or add group members promptly.

Frequently Asked Questions

  • How do I use group sign up for attendees without emails?

    • After signing up, group leaders can add contact information for their members. Only first and last names are required for members, so the leader can provide as much or as little contact information as they want.

  • What are "unknown" group members?

    • Unknown signups are group members without contact information. Group leaders reserve a total number of signups for their group and can recruit members by adding their contact info themselves, or sharing their unique group signup link with their members. The group member will remain unknown if contact info is not added for them.

  • What happens if I, as the group leader, need to cancel my signup? Can my group still attend the event?

    • If the group leader cancels their signup, their group members' signups will remain intact, except for unknown signups - unknown signups will be cancelled along with the group leader's. The group size will automatically be reduced accordingly.

    • There isn’t currently a feature to change or “swap” group leaders.

  • What happens if I need to cancel a group member’s signup? Can I replace them with someone else?

    • Yes! If a group member cancels, you can always add another group member by adding their contact information as a new member. Note that if your group has no unknown signups, you will need to raise your reservation size by one in order to add another group member.

  • What happens if the event I’m signing up for has a max capacity?

    • The max capacity for the event will override the max group size. For example, if the max group size is five but there are only three spots left in the event, you won't be able to sign up a group larger than three.

    • If the event is at capacity, you cannot add additional members or unknown signups to your group.

  • What happens if a group member is already signed up for the event?

    • Right now, individual signups cannot be moved to a group.

  • Can I sign up as an individual and then add a group to my signup later?

    • Right now, it is not possible to retroactively become a group leader after signing up as an individual.

  • Is there a way to “swap” group leaders?

    • There isn’t currently a feature to change or “swap” group leaders.

Did this answer your question?